top of page

Photos by Cody Jolly Photography  

Farewell My Friend: The Tragic Romance of Star-Crossed Lovers

Directed by Arlo Howard & Matt Wills

[September 3 - October 1, 2016]

with (re)discover theatre

Farewell My Friend was a fully immersive production in which audiences could follow any character through the experience. The show spanned 13 rooms and 3 floors, blending the stories of Romeo & Juliet and Tristan & Iseult. The production used an equal blend of Shakespeare's text and devised movement. Tristan & Iseult’s story was communicated entirely through movement. The production featured multiple moments where audience members were invited away for a one-on-one experience. Many audience members returned multiple times to catch new parts of the story.

"an emotional experience that is defined as much by words as by their absence, and a plurality of journeys that makes it worth seeing again and again
"offers an intimacy with the characters that can be found in few other forms of theatre
Splash Magazine

Video Sample


Karissa J. Murrell Myers: Iseult
Zachary Schley: Tristan
Laura Brennan: Brangien
Wesley Gaines McNair: King Mark
Tara Bouldrey: Juliet
James Bould: Lord Capulet
Susan Fay: Lady Capulet
Becky Blomgren: Nurse
Ray Rehberg: Tybalt
Lana Whittington: Rosaline
Eric Parmer: Paris
Raj Bond: Romeo
Shariba Rivers: Lady Montague
Julian Stroop: Benvolio
Kelly Schmidt: Mercutio
Paul Hovey: Balthasar
Almanya Narula: Sister Laurence
Nick Bryant: Understudy Romeo and Balthasar
Claire Bauman: Understudy Iseult and Brangien


Arlo Howard: Director
Matt Wills: Director
Shaina Schrooten: Co-Creator
Andrew Lund: One-on-one Designer
Melissa McNamara: Movement Designer
Genevieve Lally: Associate Movement Designer
Jack Wallace: Text Coach
William Bennett: Fight Director
Kate Black: Production Manager
Jeremy Mendoza: Stage Manager
Francesca Atian: Assistant Stage Manager
Sarai Moore: Assistant Stage Manager
Nicki Mazzocca: Assistant Stage Manager
Camille Smith: Assistant Stage Manager
Sarah D. Espinoza: Sound Designer
Ben Zeman: Associate Sound Designer
Joshua Wentz: Composer
Virginia Swift Varland: Costume Designer
Brandin Hurley: Set Designer
Andrew Hildner: Technical Director
Shannon Melick: Props Designer

bottom of page